Rope – In the Moment – The Music of Charlie Haden

Veteran Italian piano trio ROPE releases their newest record ‘In the Moment – The Music of Charlie Haden’ for HORA Records, an impassioned celebration of an iconic musician whose musical contributions spanned decades of creative jazz from the fifties to the present day. A tribute to Charlie Haden’s music must take into account the constantly evolving language of modern jazz: from Ornette Coleman’s desperate lyricism to the militant protest music of the Liberation Music Orchestra, to some ot the most forward-looking piano trios in jazz history, Haden was a pivotal figure in numerous seminal bands which have shaped the music we know as jazz. ROPE sails these seas with love and respect, the musicians plainly at their ease as they explore each chapter of this timeless American music. The moving voice of Petra Haden joins the trio in a memorable version of traditional song Shenandoah, a favourite of her father who recorded it many times in the final years of his incredible career.

The new work “In the Moment – The Music of Charlie Haden” will be released on vinyl and digitally on December 3, 2021 by HORA Records.


Biography: ROPE (named after the eponymous film by Alfred Hitchcock) was founded in 2002 by three young musicians destined to become leading figures of Italian creative music scene. The trio freely reworks original songs and compositions by John Zorn, Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, Misha Mengelberg, Jelly Roll Morton, Bernard Hermann, Herbie Nichols , Bill Frisell and John Lewis with their new and original conception of the piano trio. Balance, variety, synthesis, interplay and lyricism are some of the characteristics of this project, whose first two records; “Have you met Miss Bates?” (2005) and “Saints and Sinners” (2009) were both released by the glorious El Gallo Rojo Records label.


Musicians: Fabrizio Puglisi (piano), Stefano Senni (bass), Zeno De Rossi (drums, geometrikaos on Song for the Whales featuring), Petra Haden (vocals on Shenandoah).



  1. Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing / Ramblin’ 07:33
  2. Bess You is My Woman Now 05:04
  3. Sandino / Silence 06:15
  4. Fiasco / In the Moment 03:34
  5. Shenandoah (feat. Petra Haden) 04:10
  6. La Pasionaria / Song for Che 08:41
  7. Song for the Whales 05:05
  8. Spiritual 05:38
  9. In the Year of the Dragon * 05:27
  10. See You at Per Tutti’s / Vanguard Blues / Blues in Motion * 04:46
  11. Once Around the Park * 07:13


All compositions by Charlie Haden (Liberation Music Co., BMI) except Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing by James Weldon Johnson and John Rosamond Johnson (Public Domain), Ramblin’ by Ornette Coleman (Phrase Text Music ASCAP), Bess You Is My Woman Now by George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin (Gershwin Publ. Corp.), Fiasco, In The Year of The Dragon, Once Around The Park by Paul Motian (Yazgol Music), Shenandoah (Traditional, Public Domain).

Special thanks to Petra Haden. Produced by Rope and HORA Records. Recorded (January 17-18, 2021), mixed (May 13, 2021) and mastered (June 2021) at Duna Studio by Andrea Scardovi except vocals on Shenandoah, recorded by Petra Haden at her home in Los Angeles (January 2021). Artwork by Francesco Chiacchio. Design by Zeno Brunetto. Photo by Barbara Rigon.